Review: Damn Average Pawn

pawn-1

This is a sweet, simple dildo. It’s made by Damn Average, who I first discovered through Ninja Sexology’s epic guide to buying sex toys on Etsy. Damn Average is run by Sheep, who makes hand poured silicone toys in beautiful marbled color schemes. Personally, I am a huge fan of toys that are shaped like penises but not colored like penises. My vagina enjoys the general shape of a penis, while my eyes love pink and blue cotton candy swirls and streaks a lot more than shades of beige. This dildo is modeled on a life cast with a base added. It feels a bit odd to critique a toy that’s based on somebody’s body part, but hey, that’s what we do around here.

My toy also came with a small silicone heart, which you can see in the picture above. It’s pretty and shimmery and lives on my desk. To my knowledge, Sheep isn’t including squishes with orders right now, but you can still buy non-sex toy silicone stress relievers from their store.

My Pawn is in the Soft firmness, which Sheep compares to “slightly stale gummy candy.” I think this is a pretty accurate description: It’s got a decent amount of give, but it takes some force to squeeze it and it provides some resistance to being squished. It reminded me of a soft art eraser, if that helps any of you. It’s nowhere near as hard as Tantus’s firm silicone, but it’s significantly less soft than Tails and Portholes Solid Soft. If that doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, Sheep also makes toys in Hard, Medium, and Super Soft.

pawn-echo

Compared to the Tantus Echo, the Pawn is more girthy, much shorter, and definitely squishier.

This dildo is on the short-and-thick side. Its usable length is only 4.25″, and it has a maximum circumference of 5.25″, which is around 1.7″ diameter. I have a relatively short vagina, so this is usually a pretty good length for me. It doesn’t poke my cervix in an uncomfortable way like some longer, harder toys can do. Occasionally, when I’m very aroused, I wish the Pawn was just a tiny bit longer. In an unfortunate coincidence, being very aroused is the best time for me to use a toy with this girth. The shape is pretty simple; it doesn’t stimulate the G-spot  or have crazy texture. It provides a nice sense of fullness, and I’m a fan of just leaving it in my vagina while I do clit stuff. It also makes a great warmup for using a very large or very textured dildo. I really like the finish on the Pawn, it’s sort of matte and creates much less friction than glossy silicone.

pawn-3

All the pretty colors!

There’s one part of the Pawn that I am just not a fan of. It has a weird ridge towards the base that juts out towards the side. This makes it uncomfortable for me to thrust very much with this dildo, because the ridge is constantly popping in and out of my vaginal opening. If I try to thrust so that the ridge stays out of me, the Pawn becomes too short to be satisfying. I don’t know if this was part of the penis that this toy was cast from or a quirk of the mold or what, but it’s awkward and pokey.

pawn-5

You can see the ridge on the lower right in this picture.

A quick note on the base: it’s pretty small, as bases go. It’s really close to the size of the shaft. In this firmness, at least, I don’t think the base would prevent the toy from disappearing into an anus. I don’t feel comfortable recommending this toy for anal use.

Overall, the Pawn is a nice, basic realistic dildo that comes in all kinds of gorgeous colors. Also, it’s only $30! It’s hard to beat that price for a one-of-a-kind handmade piece. If you like short, moderately girthy toys in pretty colors, you would probably like this toy.

You can buy the Pawn from Damn Average, along with lots of other unique, colorful designs!

 

Leave a Reply

